Who we are

Microsprints is a personal project carried out by Pau Llorens Caellas. Pau has a Bachelor of Science degree in Exercise and Sport Science from the INEFC—National Institute of Physical Education, Catalonia— in Barcelona and is an active, experienced orienteer.

Born in Casserres, Barcelona, in 1994, he has been a member of the Berguedà Orienteering Club since 2007. He has won the Catalonian Senior Men’s Orienteering Championships for different distances in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2016. He took part in the Junior World Championship twice—2013 and 2014—finishing in 14th place. He also competed in the World University Championship in 2016, with a best finish of 19th place. He has represented the Spanish national team for each race.

He is also an expert mapper for orienteering events with experience in Berguedà, where he has made orienteering specific maps in Casseres, 2011–2015; Olvan, 2014; Puig-Reig, 2015; and Cal Rosal, 2016. He received approval from the Catalonian Orienteering Federation to create maps for races ranked in the Catalonian Orienteering Cup—Cal Rosal map, race in October, 2016. To complete this record, it’s important to mention the microsprint maps, specifically, five pools—Casseres, Montmajor, Avià, Cal Rosal, and Gironella—four parks or open areas—L’Estació de Navàs, L’Agulla de Manresa Park, Camps de Fonollet, Cal Candi—and five buildings—Cal Sandissa, IES San Ramón, IES Jaume Balmes, INEFC Barcelona, Escola Princesa Làscaris.

As a race organizer, he has helped to organize the competitions held by the Berguedà Orienteering Club since 2012. He has been a race director for the four years of the Casseres Marathon and for several races in the night league. He has also organized the thirteen microsprints held from 2015 to the summer of 2016.

However, to carry out the Microsprints project, he has worked with a number of professionals and experts in their respective fields to create what is now an activity that is clearly defined, structured, and well advertised. Noteworthy among them are the following:

  • Pedro Gilabert:
  • Jordi Llorens:
  • Greg Ahlswede: